March 17 to April 17

Posted: April 18, 2010 in technology
Tags: ,

I was supposedly fixing my iphone yesterday afternoon, April 17. Supposedly should be in capital letters.

I was still pissed off that I do not have the option of using my iphone as a modem so i can internet with my macbook. No matter how many restores i do the internet tethering option does not wanna appear in the network settings.

I messaged a techy friend who works in globe and he referred me to a website which he says might help me with my problem. And help it did. Which reminds me, I still haven’t thanked him for the help. Anyways, the site mentioned one or two ways I could do. They are very simple, really. I can’t believe I haven’t figured it out on my own. As simple as it was, a lot of complicated, stupid things still resulted.

The site suggested to reset my network settings. Simple enough right?

But instead of resetting the network settings only, I accidentally pressed reset all settings. Great!

So I decided to restore my iphone so I could revert back to the original setting and undo my stupidity. Little did I know (but how could I? I am a moron after all.) that more stupidity was about to happen. When I connected my iphone to my laptop, it automatically synced. I disabled it because I didn’t want my laptop to backup the current settings. Then I clicked the iphone icon and chose to restore from backup. There were maybe 5 or 6 backup dates stored on my laptop. I checked the dates. They were all from the 17th so I chose the latest, 1045pm. Yes. That IS a very big warning! With neon lights actually. But I rationalized that my itunes was probably set in another timezone. So i clicked the latest.

When it was done, I checked on my apps and messages and it wasn’t at all how I remembered it. I checked on the backup dates again. And f*ck! Stupid. Stupid. Stupid. March freakin’ 17!

Yep I know. All my fault. So now I lost messages, application data, meetings, and other stuff, which I still am discovering slowly, from March 17 to April 17. At least I now have the tethering option, which I doubt I’ll be using anytime soon. Booo.

–update (June 10, 2010)

Indeed, I was able to ‘activate’ tethering on my iphone then.  Unfortunately, I didn’t really give it a try on my laptop.  a few days ago, I did.  MAJOR FAIL!  The internet tethering option disappeared again!  Aaarggh.  Does it really work here in the Philippines?  It should, right?

Comments
  1. […] none of the previous fiascoes happened this time.  Now, I can send and receive e-mails using my mail app. Yey! […]

Leave a Reply

