Hi. I’m ___ and I am an alcoholic.

Posted: June 19, 2010 in food, mission, personal
Tags: , , , ,

I am not a fan of alcohol.  Growing up, I have witnessed how destructive alcohol can be.  It wasn’t fun to watch people you love consumed by its power.  It’s not fun to watch people you know waste their lives, embarrass themselves and hurt the ones they love because of alcohol.

Until now, I only occasionally drink alcohol not only because of the reasons above but also because I dislike the taste.  I enjoy a shot or two every so often but I very rarely drink to the point of intoxication.  In fact, there was only just that one time that I threw up from too much drinking.  And, I can barely recall the last time I had a drink.  That’s how long it is since my last.

For people who love to drink, I beg you to please drink responsibly.  And for the love of God, please DO NOT DRINK and DRIVE EVER!  I can not over emphasize how dangerous that is.

And if you’re ever wondering if you are becoming an alcoholic, here’re a few questions you need to ask yourself:

  1. Have you ever felt you needed to Cut down on your drinking?
  2. Have people Annoyed you by criticizing your drinking?
  3. Have you ever felt Guilty about drinking?
  4. Have you ever felt you needed a drink first thing in the morning (Eye-opener) to steady your nerves or to get rid of a hangover?

Two “yes” responses indicate that you should seek help professionally for further evaluation.  This CAGE questionnaire is highly effective in identifying alcohol-related problems.  If you know someone who drinks a lot and wanna help, try and use this questionnaire on him/her.

*This post was inspired by the story of a twitterfriend who was wrongfully (I hope – peace =P) accused of being an alcoholic.  Let’s not call anyone names.  That’s just nasty.

Comments
  1. marco says:

    hahahaha! i’m not alcoholic!!! ^_^

Leave a Reply

