wimbledon-induced insomnia

Posted: July 5, 2010 in personal, tennis, tv
Tags: , ,

I have been sleepless for three weeks now.  The first week because of too much internet, the two succeeding weeks because of the third tennis grand slam of the year – the Wimbledon.

Manila is 7 hours ahead of England.  Play at Wimbledon usually starts at 1pm (8pm Manila time) and goes on til around 9 or 10 pm (4-5am Manila time).  I follow the matches of a lot of the tennis players – Maria Sharapova, Justine Henin, Andy Roddick, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Kim Clijsters, Jelena Jankovic, Serena and Venus Williams, and a lot more., which means sitting in front of my TV and laptop til the wee hours of the morning.  This goes on for the entire two weeks.  Some nights end earlier than others.  It all depends on the “tightness” of the match.

During the early rounds, I usually get to sleep a lot earlier since my favorite players just breeze through.  But this Wimbledon is different.  A lot of the players I root for had trouble even in the first round.  Take for instance THE Roger Federer.  He was down 2 sets to love before winning his match.  How could I not watch that match?  Almost the same thing happened to Novak and a lot of the other top players.  I would not get a good night’s sleep not knowing if my players survived.

But not all exciting matches happen with top players involved.  The most memorable Wimbledon match this year will probably be the John Isner – Nicolas Mahut match which lasted for more than 10 hours in a span of three days.  It is by far and for a loooong time will be, the longest tennis match in history.

Today marks the end of my insomnia, at least the Wimbledon-induced kind.  As expected, Serena defended her crown.  Thanks to her tenacity as well as the brilliance of some of the rising players who took out the likes of Kim Clijsters, Caroline Wozniacki and Venus Williams.  Roger, perhaps due to the very early scare lasted only until the quarterfinals this year, unable to hold his own against the inspired Tomas Berdych.  Novak and Murray, the number 3 and 4 seeds were no match against the eventual finalists Nadal and Berdych.  In the end, it was Nadal who raised the trophy, for the second time in Wimbledon and 9th grand slam in total.

It’ll be a long while before the next slam, the US open.  I would have to be extra resourceful that time because my cable provider has limited channels.  But for now, my bed awaits me.  I am hoping to get a restful sleep tonight, thanks to the effects of GSM blue and gatorade!

Comments
  1. […] turning the alarm off is subconscious and I wake up an hour later not realizing I turned it off.  It started a month or so ago, a week prior to Wimbledon.  I called it the wimbledon-induced insomnia.  I thought my sleep […]

Leave a Reply

