not in the mood for writing

Posted: August 22, 2010 in personal
Tags: , , ,

There are like 17 drafts on my wordpress dashboard.  I have started so many yet cannot finish even one.  Even plinky prompts aren’t helping.  Yes there are a lot of interesting questions that I might have answered on a different time but this past few weeks have just been so draining – physically, mentally and emotionally.

I have dance rehearsals for 4-5 times a week.  We have two-hour rehearsals on weekdays and 4- 6 hours of rehearsal on weekends.  This is on top of the one hour daily commute everyday going to work which usually involves a lot of walking – from condo to train stations, from one train station to a different railway line; standing – while waiting for the next train and while inside the train; climbing the stairs; more walking – going from one meeting to another;  and pushing to get inside an already full train so that I won’t be late for work.

Work has been demanding as of late.  Revisions of standards, a lot of writing, editing and proof reading, database tune up, summarizing reports, reading, answering mails and phone queries, brain storming – all these require a functional brain which I barely have because of the late nights spent with more writing, reading, editing and summarizing.  I think I have been in front of the computer for more hours a day than what is considered healthy.  I am only away from either my laptop or PC when I am asleep.  My neurons surely are already fried!

It would have been a lot easier if the situation at work is ideal.  But ineffective planning, directives with unclear direction, goals with vague outcomes and politics all get int he way of getting things done faster and more efficiently.  The continuous cycle of writing, revision and rewriting is simply tiring not only physically and mentally but much more so emotionally.  What’s more frustrating is that because of all the mounting work brought about by scattered decision making from the bosses, I barely have time for some unwinding with friends, which I really, really need.  Ahhh, the irony!

So I am still striving to find the inspiration, energy and mental capacity to post something that’s even mildly interesting or entertaining here.  In the meantime, I could only come up with something like this. Enjoy. Not. =(

Leave a Reply

