Iphone Restore

Posted: October 13, 2010 in technology
Tags: , , ,

My mail app wasn’t working. I can download emails, see the preview of the mail but when I open it, I can only see the ‘to’, ‘cc’ and ‘subject’.  No content.  No amount of refreshing solves the problem.

I tried deleting the accounts and logging in again. I was able to download the emails and for a few days it worked. Then back to the same problem. And when I tried creating an email, I couldn’t see the cursor, couldn’t see what I was typing or if the keystrokes register at all. I tried composing the email using notepad and then sending it thru there. That was a success. I think I was also able to edit the message when I got into the mail app and successfully send it too. But that won’t do me any good. What use is a mail app if I couldn’t receive or send e-mails, right?

So I decided to restore my iphone to its original settings. Here’s how I did it:

  1. I connected the iphone to my mac via usb. I backed up and synced all the data in my iphone.
  2. After syncing, I clicked on the restore button. Everything is automatic from then on. There are just a few prompts that’ll pop out.
  3. After itunes updated the firmware, it’ll ask if you want to restore from back up or start as a new iphone.  Of course I chose restore from back up and chose my latest back up.

The restore took a long time for me, almost 2 hours because I have so many 11 pages of apps with a lot of folders.  FYI, with iOS4, apps can now be grouped in folders according to your own obsessiveness. =)  I also have a lot of songs, pics and videos, which added a few more minutes to the restore.

Thankfully, none of the previous fiascoes happened this time.  Now, I can send and receive e-mails using my mail app. Yey! =)

Leave a Reply

