I could have been an interventional radiologist

Posted: February 26, 2011 in personal
Tags: ,

Out of curiosity, I took the Medical Specialty Aptitude Test of the University of Virginia School of Medicine.  Got the information about the website from a friend’s multiply account.  After years of being out of clinical practice, I found myself answering the 130 questions of the aptitude test ticking the statements that most apply to me.  After 10 minutes, the results of showed this:

If I’d chosen to practice clinical medicine, I most probably would’ve specialized in interventional radiology.  It is one of the more exciting ‘benign’ specialties and it pays a lot. $_$

From the 15 listed, radiology may be the only field I would ever think of training in.  I wouldn’t even put half those listed in my top 10 choices plus, I probably wouldn’t qualify anyway.  But it’s okay.  I may not have followed the usual path a doctor takes, but what I still love what I do.  It’s just nice to think about what could have been.

Leave a Reply

