waterproof cameras

Posted: April 11, 2011 in fun, technology, travel
Tags: , ,

 

I love the outdoors. I love going to the beach, rock and mountain climbing, snorkeling, playing tennis or badminton, surfing, dancing and going on road trips. I also love documenting all these adventures (read: I am a camera whore)! Hahaha

The first camera I owned was a casio exilim digital camera. I forget the model but it was one of the better ones then that I could afford. The next camera I bought was a waterproof camera – a pentax optio wpi with just a 6mp resolution! I think this was in 2007 or so.

Ciocoi

In 2009, I bought another camera to replace the already moody casio exilim. I got a pseudo-dSLR – Sony DSC-H50, with 9.1 mp, 15x optical zoom, a tilting 3″ LCD monitor with full HD videos 1080 still image.

Sunny

Ciocoi, the waterproof camera, and Sunny, the long-zoom Sony camera, were part of many of my travels all over the Philippines and abroad. They have been with me to Batanes, La Union, Pangasinan, Bicol, Boracay, Iloilo, Palawan, Davao, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore and many more.

Now, I’m looking to replace Ciocoi with a more powerful all-weather camera. I am down to 4 choices:

Sony TX10

Panasonic Lumix TS10

Olympus TG 810

pentax WG-1

I am looking for a slim, good looking camera that I can use underwater, takes good enough pictures and has a long enough zoom.  So far, all these 4 make the mark.  I will just have to decide based on other specs such as price, extra features and possibly, availability in the Philippines.  I want the new camera before the holy week! So which one should I get?  =)

Leave a Reply

